Reamm Org

MX News Update 2024


Sri Lanka is putting together a strong squad for the T20I World Cup


Sri Lanka has named all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga as captain for the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup to be held in the West Indies and the USA. Hasaranga, who became Sri Lanka’s T20I captain in December last year, will lead an experienced team. Middle-order batsman Charith Asalanka has been appointed as his vice-captain.

The squad includes veteran Angelo Mathews, who returned to the T20I scene in January after a break of almost three years. This World Cup is Mathews’ sixth appearance at the tournament; he was part of Sri Lanka’s championship-winning team in 2014.

Sri Lanka’s line-up offers a lot of leadership experience. The squad consists of former limited-overs captain Dasun Shanaka, current ODI captain Kusal Mendis and current Test captain Dhananjaya de Silva, giving the team a wealth of knowledge in the leadership department.

Sri Lanka has prioritized balance in the team composition, with several all-rounders. Hasaranga, a leading spin bowling all-rounder, is joined by fellow spin specialists Dunith Wellalage, Dhananjaya de Silva and Kamindu Mendis.

Angelo Mathews and Dasun Shanaka provide all-rounder options in pace bowling, giving the side versatility. Matheesha Pathirana and Nuwan Alsohara, with their swinging bowling action reminiscent of Lasith Malinga, bring the X-factor to Sri Lanka’s pace attack led by Dushmantha Chameera and Dilshan Madushanka.

Sri Lanka has been placed in Group D alongside South Africa, Bangladesh, Netherlands and Nepal. They will start their T20 World Cup campaign on June 3 against South Africa in New York.

In addition to the 15-man squad, Sri Lanka has also named four players as traveling reserves: Asitha Fernando, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Janith Liyanage.

Selection Sri Lanka: Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Alsohara, Matheesha Pathirana and Dilshan Madushanka

Traveling reserves: Asitha Fernando, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Janith Liyanage.