Reamm Org

MX News Update 2024


Main, Abhishek shines as ‘unreal’ Hyderabad, crushes Lucknow by 10 wickets

Openers Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma smoked half-centuries as Sunrisers Hyderabad crushed Lucknow Super Giants by 10 wickets on Wednesday to boost their play-off hopes in the IPL.

Chasing a modest 166 for victory, Head, who hit 89, and fellow left-hander Abhishek, who hit 75, charged into the opposition attack to romp home with 10.2 overs to spare at their home in Uppal.

“I’m at a loss for words. We saw that batting on TV but it was unreal,” Lucknow skipper KL Rahul said about the batting by the Hyderabad openers.

“Everything hit the middle of the bat, kudos to their skill, they worked really hard on their six-hitting.”

Australia’s Head attacked with a flurry of fours and sixes as he reached fifty in 16 balls and went past 500 runs this season.

Head is now third in the batting chart behind Virat Kohli (542) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (541) with his fourth half-century – he also has a ton – in this edition.

Abhishek joined the attack as he reached his fifty in 19 balls after the pair took Hyderabad to 107 in the first six overs of the powerplay, in which only two fielders are allowed outside the inner circle.

Hyderabad, who won the IPL in 2016 under David Warner, recorded their seventh win in 12 matches, handing a perfect gift to birthday boy and captain Pat Cummins, who turned 31 on Wednesday.

Abhishek hit the winning six as Hyderabad moved to third place in the 10-team table with 14 points. Lucknow remains sixth after the painful loss.

The top four teams will reach the play-offs with the final on May 26 in Chennai.

Seam bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar secured the victory with impressive bowling figures of 2-12 in his four overs, restricting Lucknow to 165-4 after they opted to bat first.

Lucknow lost regular wickets until Nicholas Pooran, who hit 48, and Ayush Badoni, who hit 55, posted an unbeaten stand of 99 in 52 balls to boost the team’s total.

But the score proved too low against a team that posted record totals of 277 and 287 in this high-scoring edition of the T20 tournament.