Reamm Org

MX News Update 2024


NHL announces Ted Lindsay Award finalists

The National Hockey League has announced the three finalists for 2024 Ted Lindsay Award given to the Most Outstanding Player in the NHL, voted on by the players. The finalists are Nikita Kucherov of lightning in Tampa Bay, Nathan Mackinnon of the Colorado Avalanche, and Auston Matthews of the Toronto Maple Leafs. Connor McDavid was last year’s winner and Matthews previously won the award in 2022. Kucherov and MacKinnon are both finalists for the Hart Trophy.

Kucherov was the NHL’s leading scorer this season, with 44 goals and 100 assists in 81 games. His 144 points were the highest total ever for a Lightning player, surpassing his own record of 128 points in 2018-19. Kucherov has already taken home the prize Art Rose Trophy for most points in an NHL season and previously won the Ted Lindsay Award in 2019, along with the Hart Trophy.

MacKinnon’s presence was hugely important for the Avalanche this season as they dealt with a slew of injuries to key players. MacKinnon played in every regular season game and finished with 51 goals and 89 assists for 140 points, all career highs. It was the second season in a row that the 28-year-old topped 100 points.

Finally, Matthews had an incredible season leading the league with 69 goals and a career-high 107 points. In addition to his goal-scoring prowess, Matthews also took on more penalty-killing responsibility by playing nearly 58 minutes of short ice time, compared to just 3:29 for the entire season a year ago. Matthews’ increased defensive awareness led to him also being nominated as a finalist for the Frank J. Selke Trophy, given to the League’s best defensive forward.

The winner of the prize will be announced at the end of June.