Reamm Org

MX News Update 2024


Lalancette and Thomas deserve top honors for highlighting the NEWMAC Women’s Lacrosse Awards

Springfield, Massachusetts – May 8, 2024 – The Springfield College women’s lacrosse team had five student-athletes earn New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) All-Conference honors, which was announced by the conference office.

The 2024 NEWMAC Women’s Lacrosse All-Conference Team consisted of an initial team of 12 individuals voted on by the conference’s 11 women’s lacrosse coaches. Hannah Hibbert (Center Harbor, NH) was the Pride’s only first-team selection, while Maddie Roy (Wilbraham, MA), Izzy Lalancette (Feeding Hills, MA), Lily Johnson (Oceanside, NY)And Samantha Andresen (Port Jefferson Station, NY) were all selected.

Also head coach Jen Thomas and her staff was named NEWMAC Co-Coaching Staff of the Year and Lalancette was named NEWMAC Rookie of the Year. In her second year at Springfield College, this marks the first conference recognition for Thomas and her staff, while Lalancette becomes only the second Springfield College women’s lacrosse student-athlete to be named the top newcomer in the NEWMAC, joining since 2003 when Holly Carmody joins.

It was a standout rookie campaign for Lalancette, who scored 54 points, including 45 goals, which is a new program record for goals scored by a freshman women’s lacrosse student-athlete at Springfield College. She also posted 21 draw controls, 21 ground balls and caused 15 turnovers. Hibbert had a sensational senior season as a dynamic defensive force, leading the team in both draw controls (60), ground balls (35), and turnovers (29), along with three goals and an assist. Johnson scored a team-best 62 points, including a team-best 47 goals, while she scored six match-winning goals this year. Andresen has had a well-rounded year, with 47 goals on 33 ground balls and 27 draw checks, while Roy finished second on the team with 58 draw checks and 28 ground balls grabbed while producing on the offensive side of the field. with 37 points on 21 goals and 16 helpers.

In her second year on the sidelines at Springfield, Thomas and her coaching staff of Kelly Gallo, Katie Martel and Ellsa Peabody helped lead the Pride to a 15-4 record, which marked the second-most wins in program history . Thanks to their overall body of work, the Pride earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament and will host a national postseason game at Stagg Field for the first time since 2006.

For the latest news on Springfield College Athletics, follow Pride on social media TweetFacebook and Instagram.